Election events

The Electoral Commission of Queensland is an independent and impartial organisation established under the Electoral Act 1992 to administer the following electoral events.

Local government elections

Local government elections are held every four years on the last Saturday in March, unless changed by regulation.

There are 77 local government areas within Queensland. A divided council has internal boundaries known as divisions or wards and voters elect a councillor to represent their division. In an undivided council, voters elect all the councillors for their local government area.

The next local government election will be held on Saturday, 28 March 2020.  For more information, see the 2020 local government elections page.

State government elections

Queensland is transitioning to four year fixed-terms following the 2016 referendum. The next state election is due to be held on the 31st of October 2020.

Queensland comprises of 93 electorates. For more information see electoral boundaries.

For more information about the Currumbin By-election please see the Currumbin By-election page.


By-elections may be held if a vacancy occurs during a term of office for a member of parliament, a mayor or a councillor.

Vacancies can occur for many reasons, including death, resignation, absence without leave, expulsion or disqualification.

For information about finalised elections, see the Election Results page.


A referendum is held when the government would like to change the State Constitution and provides electors with the opportunity to give their opinion. Voting in a referendum is compulsory.

In a state referendum, you'll be asked to vote in favour of ("yes") or against ("no") one or more questions, rather than selecting a candidate/s as a representative for state district or local government area.

ProposalDateVotes in Favour ("Yes")Votes Against ("No")Result
Fixed Four (4) Year Terms19 March 201652.96%47.04%Passed
Daylight Savings22 February 199240.57%48.60%Failed
Extension of Parliamentary Terms from Three (3) to Four (4) years23 March 1991772,647811,078Failed
Control or Prohibition Liquor3 October 1923  Failed
Control or Prohibition Liquor 30 October 1920  Failed
Abolition of the Legislative Council5 May 1917119,909179,105Failed
Religious Instruction13 April 191074,22856,681Passed
Federation2 September 189938,48830,996Passed

Industrial elections

ECQ is responsible for conducting industrial elections under the Industrial Relations Act 2016. Applications may be made to the Queensland Industrial Relations Commission (QIRC) seeking an election of office-bearers. Prescribed election information (form 65) must be lodged with the QIRC. This form can be found on the QIRC website. If the application is approved, the QIRC will issue a decision instructing ECQ to conduct the election.

Union: Queensland Teachers Union of Employees
Decision: RIO 2019/281-282 & RIO 2020/5-8)
Date: 27 November 2019 & 21 January 2020

Notice of Election and Nomination Form PDF (0.25 MB)

Union: Queensland Teachers Union of Employees
Decision: RIO 2019/240-241
Date: 4 September 2019

Notice of Election and Nomination Form

Summary of Nominations

Results of Ballot Paper Draw

Certificate of Election
PDF (0.29 MB)

Union: The Registered and Licensed Clubs Association of Queensland, Union of Employers
Decision: RIO 2019/267
Date: 25 October 2019

Notice of Election and Nomination Form PDF (0.18 MB)

Summary of Nominations PDF (0.17 MB)

Results of the Ballot Paper Draw PDF (0.07 MB)

Certificate of Election PDF (0.16 MB)