Currumbin By-election

A by-election for the Queensland electoral district of Currumbin was held on Saturday 28 March 2020. This is because the current sitting member resigned. The by-election was on the same day as the 2020 local government elections - Saturday, 28 March 2020.

Results for the Currumbin by-election will be released progressively on the Currumbin by-election results page.

The ECQ delivered the elections based on advice from Queensland’s health authorities and experts regarding the impact of COVID-19. It put a range of protection measures in place.

Voting is compulsory.

The ECQ published daily updates on the delivery of the 2020 local government elections and Currumbin and Bundamba State by-elections.

Key election dates for the Currumbin by-election

The Governor, His Excellency the Honourable Paul de Jersey AC, issued the writ for the Currumbin by-election to be held on Saturday, 28 March 2020. This is the same date as the 2020 local government elections.

The electoral roll closed on Wednesday, 12 February 2020.

Candidate nominations for the Currumbin by-election are now closed.

Candidates had until 12pm (midday) on Thursday, 13 February 2020, to nominate for election for the electoral district of Currumbin.

On Thursday, 13 February 2020, the ECQ conducted a random draw to determine the order in which candidates' names appear on the ballot paper.

The by-election candidates in ballot paper order are:

  1. Laura Gerber (LNP)
  2. Sally Spain (The Greens)
  3. Nicholas Bettany (Pauline Hanson’s One Nation)
  4. Kaylee Campradt (Australian Labor Party)

Postal vote applications closed at 7pm Monday, 16 March 2020.

Postal votes must be completed by 6pm on election day (Saturday, 28 March 2020) and the ECQ must receive your postal vote no later than 5pm on Tuesday, 7 April 2020. This is the same date as the close of postal votes for the 2020 local government elections.

Telephone voting closed at 6pm Saturday, 28 March 2020.

This service was offered to eligible voters, including those who identified as having an impairment, disability or a low level of literacy, or those advised by a medical practitioner to remain in isolation during the election period due to exposure to COVID-19.

Early voting closed at 6pm Friday, 27 March 2020.  The timeframe for early voting in the Currumbin by-election was the same as the 2020 local government elections.

Mobile polling including registered declared institutions will be provided in some regional areas and hospitals.

Election day was Saturday, 28 March 2020 and polling booths were open from 8am to 6pm. This was the same as the 2020 local government elections.

Currumbin voters were able to vote for both their state and local government representatives at any polling booth in the state district of Currumbin. There were two separate voting areas (state and local government) within the polling booth and Currumbin voters were required to vote in both elections.

Following the close of polling at 6pm on election day, 28 March 2020, an unofficial preliminary count of votes is conducted.

The ECQ will start the official vote count and progressively publish results on the Currumbin by-election results page.

For more information go to How are votes counted?

Returning Officer

The Returning Officer for the Currumbin by-election can be contacted at:
6/53 Township Drive
Burleigh Heads QLD 4220
Phone: 1300 881 665

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Email us at or call us on 1300 881 665.

Our call centre is open 8am – 6pm Monday to Friday and 9am – 4pm Saturday.