Bundamba By-election

A by-election for the Queensland electoral district of Bundamba was held on Saturday 28 March 2020. This is because the current sitting member resigned.

Results for the Bundamba by-election are available on the Bundamba by-election results page.

The ECQ delivered the elections based on advice from Queensland’s health authorities and experts regarding the impact of COVID-19. It put a range of protection measures in place.

Key election information for the Bundamba by-election

The Speaker, the Honourable Curtis Pitt MP, issued a writ for an election for the electoral district of Bundamba, to be held on Saturday 28 March 2020. This was the same date as the 2020 local government elections.

The electoral roll closed on Friday, 28 February 2020.

Candidates had until 12pm (midday) on Tuesday, 3 March 2020, to nominate for election for the electoral district of Bundamba.

On Tuesday, 3 March 2020, the ECQ conducted a random draw to determine the order in which candidates' names appear on the ballot paper.

The by-election candidates in ballot paper order were:

  1. Sharon Bell (Pauline Hanson's One Nation)
  2. Lance McCallum (Australian Labor Party)
  3. Danielle Mutton (The Greens)
  4. Robert Shearman (LNP)

Postal vote applications closed at 7pm Monday, 16 March 2020.

Postal votes were to be completed by 6pm on election day (Saturday, 28 March 2020) and received by the ECQ no later than 5pm on Tuesday, 7 April 2020 in order to be included in the count.

Telephone voting closed at 6pm Saturday, 28 March 2020.

This service was offered to eligible voters, including those who identified as having an impairment, disability or a low level of literacy, or those advised by a medical practitioner to remain in isolation during the election period due to exposure to COVID-19.

Early voting closed at 6pm Friday, 27 March 2020.

Election day was Saturday, 28 March 2020 and polling booths were open from 8am to 6pm.

Following the close of polling at 6pm on election day, 28 March 2020, an unofficial preliminary count of votes was conducted.

On 9 April 2020, the writ advising of the election of the successful candidate (Lance McCallum) was returned to the Speaker of the Queensland Parliament. The result of the official count has been on the Bundamba by-election results page.

For more information go to How are votes counted?