Currumbin By-election

A by-election for the Queensland electoral district of Currumbin was held on Saturday 28 March 2020. This is because the current sitting member resigned.

Results for the Currumbin by-election can be found  on the Currumbin by-election results page.

The ECQ delivered the elections based on advice from Queensland’s health authorities and experts regarding the impact of COVID-19. It put a range of protection measures in place.

Key election dates for the Currumbin by-election

The Governor, His Excellency the Honourable Paul de Jersey AC, issued the writ for the Currumbin by-election to be held on Saturday, 28 March 2020. This is the same date as the 2020 local government elections.

The electoral roll closed on Wednesday, 12 February 2020.

Candidates had until 12pm (midday) on Thursday, 13 February 2020, to nominate for election for the electoral district of Currumbin.

On Thursday, 13 February 2020, the ECQ conducted a random draw to determine the order in which candidates' names appear on the ballot paper.

The by-election candidates in ballot paper order were:

  1. Laura Gerber (LNP)
  2. Sally Spain (The Greens)
  3. Nicholas Bettany (Pauline Hanson’s One Nation)
  4. Kaylee Campradt (Australian Labor Party)

Postal vote applications closed at 7pm Monday, 16 March 2020.

Postal votes were to be completed by 6pm on election day (Saturday, 28 March 2020) and received by the ECQ no later than 5pm on Tuesday, 7 April 2020 in order to be included in the count.

Telephone voting closed at 6pm Saturday, 28 March 2020.

This service was offered to eligible voters, including those who identified as having an impairment, disability or a low level of literacy, or those advised by a medical practitioner to remain in isolation during the election period due to exposure to COVID-19.

Early voting closed at 6pm Friday, 27 March 2020.  The timeframe for early voting in the Currumbin by-election was the same as the 2020 local government elections.

Election day was Saturday, 28 March 2020 and polling booths were open from 8am to 6pm.

Following the close of polling at 6pm on election day, 28 March 2020, an unofficial preliminary count was conducted.

On 9 April 2020, the writ advising of the election of the successful candidate (Laura Gerber) was returned to His Excellency the Governor. The result of the official count has been published on the Currumbin by-election results page.

For more information go to How are votes counted?