Electoral Commission Queensland


As a democratic society every elector has the right to vote and decide which candidate or party they wish to act as representative in government. It is the responsibility of every elector to understand the election process and voting system in Queensland. For information on all federal elections please visit the Australian Electoral Commission.

The ECQ is an independent, impartial organisation responsible for the conduct of the following types of elections: 

State government elections

Queensland state parliamentary terms run for a maximum of three years; an election is usually announced towards the end of each term. There is no minimum period required so a government can choose to hold the election at anytime during its three year term. Within Queensland there are 89 state districts.

Local government elections 

Local council elections are held every four years on the last Saturday in March, unless changed by regulation. Councillors are elected for a four year term and are responsible for making decisions about services in the local community. There are 77 local council areas within Queensland.


By-elections are held if a vacancy occurs during a term of office, leaving a position without a member of parliament or a Mayor or Councillor. A vacancy can occur because of a death, resignation, absence without leave, expulsion, disqualification or ineligibility of a member. 

Polls and referendums

State Referendums are held to identify the opinion of the electors on a proposed change to the State Constitution. Referendums require electors to vote either in favour of ("yes") or against ("no") a particular question, as opposed to voting for a candidate as a representative.

Industrial elections

Industrial elections and protected action ballots are run in accordance with the Queensland Industrial Relations Commission (QIRC).