Divisional boundary reviews

Divisional boundaries are reviewed in the year before the local government quadrennial elections, as required by law.

Each council division is required to have relatively the same number of electors so that each person's vote carries the same weight (one vote, one value). This is known as a 'reasonable proportion of electors' (quota).

Reasonable proportion of electors (quota)

As Queensland's population grows and shifts, the number of voters in each local government area (council) changes.

Councils must review enrolment within their divisions and notify the Minister responsible for Local Government and the Electoral Commissioner of the results no later than:

  • Brisbane City Council - 1 October, two years before the local government quadrennial elections.
  • Other divided councils (except Indigenous regional councils) - 1 March, the year before the local government quadrennial elections.

To determine the quota, divide the total number of enrolled electors in a local government area by the number of councillors (excluding the mayor). A tolerance of either 10% or 20% is allowed depending on the number of electors:

  • For a local government area with more than 10,000 electors: 10%
  • For any other local government area: 20%

See section 15 of the Local Government Act 2009 and section 17 of the City of Brisbane Act 2010 for more information.

Reviews prior to 2024 local government elections

Local government divisions out of quota will be reviewed during 2023 so that any changes can be implemented before the 2024 local government elections. The status of enrolment reviews is:

  • Brisbane City Council – a review of the 26 Brisbane City Council wards as at 31 August 2022 determined that all wards currently have a reasonable proportion of electors and a divisional boundary review is not required to be undertaken prior to the 2024 local government elections.
  • Other divided councils – enrolment reviews are required by 1 March 2023, and any required divisional boundary reviews be confirmed in February 2023.

Finalised reviews

The Change Commission has finalised the following divisional boundary reviews:

For further information please email LGboundaries@ecq.qld.gov.au or call 1300 881 665.