North Burnett Regional Council Mayoral by-election

The Electoral Commission of Queensland acknowledges the Traditional Owners of country where the by-election is being conducted, and their connection to land and community. We pay our respects to all Traditional Owners, and Elders past, present and emerging.

A by-election for the Mayor of North Burnett Regional Council is being held in January 2022. This is a full postal election and all electors are being sent a postal vote.

View the notice of election PDF (0.13 MB).

Key dates for the election can be viewed on the election timetable.

As required by the Local Government Electoral Act 2011, the system of voting for Mayoral by-elections is optional preferential voting. To make your vote count, you must number one, some, or all the candidates on your ballot paper, in order of preference starting with 1.


Candidate nominations closed at noon on Thursday 23 December 2021.

See who has nominated.

Ways to cast your vote

Postal vote

This is a full postal election and all electors are being sent a postal vote.

Ballot papers have been printed and mailed to electors.

Complete your vote and return it as soon as you receive it. You must complete your vote by 6pm Saturday 22 January 2022, and the ECQ must receive it by Tuesday 1 February 2022 for your vote to be counted.

If you haven’t received your ballot materials in the mail please go to the office of the Returning Officer at 5 Pineapple Street Gayndah for a replacement ballot paper. The Returning Officer will be available between 9am and 5pm on Friday 21 January and between 8am and 6pm on election day, Saturday 22 January. Alternatively you can call the ECQ on 1300 881 665 to arrange for a reissue.

Key election dates

  • Notice of Election – Monday 13 December 2021.
  • Candidate nominations open - Monday 13 December 2021.
  • Close of electoral roll – Monday 20 December 2021.
  • Candidate nominations close – Thursday 23 December 2021, 12pm.
  • Ballot paper order draw – Thursday 23 December 2021, 2.30pm.
  • Election day – Saturday 22 January 2022, 8am to 6pm.

Returning officer

Name: Wayne Gormley

RO Office: QCWA Hall, 5 Pineapple Street GAYNDAH 4625


Telephone: 0458 430 364