Inala and Ipswich West by-elections

By-elections are being held to elect a new Member of Parliament for the State electorates of Inala and Ipswich West.

Election day: 16 March 2024.

Early voting is from 4 March 2024 to 15 March 2024, excluding the weekend.

Voting is compulsory for people enrolled to vote in Inala and Ipswich West.

Search your address to see if you need to vote.

Key dates for the by-elections can be viewed on each of the election timetables:

View the writ for the Inala by-election.

View the writ for the Ipswich West by-election.

The ECQ employs temporary staff to work at elections.

There are different types of roles available. Most work is on election day, but some roles are also available before and after election day.

You don’t need to have election experience to apply. All temporary election staff are paid and receive training and support.

If you are interested in working at the Inala or Ipswich West by-election, click here.

Voting is compulsory for Australian citizens aged 18 or over.

Enrol to vote or update your details at

In person

Election day voting is between 8am and 6pm on Saturday, 16 March 2024.

Early voting is from 4 March 2024 to 15 March 2024 excluding the weekend.

You can vote in the by-election at the same time as you vote in the local government elections, but will need to vote within your electorate.

Remember to bring your maroon voter information card with you for quicker voting.

Find your nearest polling booth and voting times for Inala State by-election

Find your nearest polling booth and voting times for Ipswich West State by-election

Postal voting

Apply for a postal vote online for Inala and Ipswich West, or send the form PDF (0.18 MB) to us.

Applications close at 7pm on 4 March 2024.

Ballot papers will be printed and despatched after the ballot paper order draw on 13 February 2024.

You can complete your postal vote as soon as you receive it, following the instructions carefully.

Find out more about how to complete a postal vote and watch a short video.

You must complete your vote by 6pm 16 March 2024.

The ECQ must receive it by 5pm 26 March 2024 so your vote can be counted.

Telephone voting

Telephone voting is available to people who meet the eligibility criteria.

Telephone voting will be available between Monday, 4 March and election day, Saturday, 16 March 2024.

To register for telephone voting call 1300 912 782 before noon on 16 March 2024.

Find out more about telephone voting.

At these elections you must number all the boxes on the ballot paper in your preferred order. Start with the number 1 for the candidate you most prefer.

This is the full preferential voting system, which is used as required by the Electoral Act 1992.

Watch this short video to learn about ways to vote.

  • Issue of the writ – 30 January 2024
  • Candidate nominations open – 31 January 2024
  • Close of electoral roll – 5 February 2024
  • Candidate nominations close – noon 13 February 2024
  • Ballot paper order draw – 2pm, 13 February 2024
  • Early voting – 4 March 2024 to 15 March 2024 excluding weekends
  • Election day – Saturday 16 March 2024
  • Return of the writ – 22 April 2024
  • Close of return of postal vote – 26 March 2024

Inala State by-election

Name: David Roberts
RO Office: 99 Kelliher Road, Richlands, QLD 4077

Ipswich West State by-election

Name: Peter O’Sullivan
RO Office: 22 Nicholas Street, Ipswich, QLD Australia 4305