Is voting compulsory?

Voting is an important way to have a say in shaping Queensland. Voting is compulsory for all Queenslanders over the age of 18. If you don’t vote, you may receive a fine.

If you'll find it difficult to get to a polling booth, or it's unsafe for your address to be on the electoral roll, read more about special enrolment options.

COVID-safe voting

The ECQ acts on advice from Queensland Health about delivering elections in a COVID-safe way. The key messages from the ECQ are:

  • Plan your vote
  • Know where and when you will vote
  • Stay 1.5 metres apart
  • Use hand sanitiser
  • Bring your own pen or pencil if you wish
  • Follow all Queensland Health directions, including wearing a mask as needed.

Election staff receive specific health training and will ensure social distancing, safe numbers inside voting venues, and the regular cleaning of polling booths and pencils.

The Queensland government also requires everyone to use the Check In Qld app when they vote in person. This is the same app used to check into restaurants and shops. If anyone needs help with this, or if they don’t know how to use the app, election staff at the voting venue will help.

Apparent Failure to Vote and Infringement Notices

The ECQ has begun issuing warning letters and ‘apparent failure to vote’ notices to electors who appear not to have voted during 2021.

If you receive a warning letter, you do not need to take any action now, but make sure you vote in the next election or by-election where you are enrolled.

If you receive an ‘apparent failure to vote’ notice, you can:

  • provide a valid and sufficient reason for not voting
  • tell us that you did vote and provide details
  • pay a fine of 1 penalty unit at the time of the offence ($137.00) or half this amount ($68.50) if paid before the deadline.

If you don’t respond to the ‘apparent failure to vote’ notice, we’ll refer you to the State Penalties Enforcement Registry (SPER) for further action.

Pay online

If you have received an apparent failure to vote notice or infringement notice and wish to pay online, please click below or visit:

Pay your fine

Please note that the option to pay online will expire upon the due date of the relevant notice.


Apparent failure to vote notice example

A sample of page 1 of a State General Election Apparent Failure to Vote letter

Non-voter warning letter example

A sample of a State General Election warning letter