Torres Shire Council Mayoral by-election

The Electoral Commission of Queensland acknowledges the Traditional Owners of country where the by-election is being conducted, and their connection to land and community. We pay our respects to all Traditional Owners, and Elders past, present and emerging.

A by-election is being held to elect a new mayor of the Torres Shire Council.

Election day is Saturday 28 May 2022.

Early voting will be from Wednesday 25 May to Friday 27 May 2022.

Voting is compulsory for people enrolled to vote in Torres Shire Council.

View the notice of election PDF (0.1 MB).

See who has nominated as a candidate here.

During an election there are multiple casual roles available. Most work is on election day, but some jobs are also available before and after election day.

All temporary election staff are paid and receive training and support.

If you are interested in working at the by-election, click here to find out more.

Voting is compulsory for Australian citizens aged 18 or over.

Enrol to vote or update your details at

In person

You can vote in person at these times and places:

Early voting

Where: Torres Shire Council building, 68 Douglas Street, Thursday Island.

When: Wednesday 25 May to Thursday 26 May 2022 – 9am to 5pm and Friday 27 May 2022 – 9am to 6pm.

Election day voting

Where: Horn Island Sports Complex, 43 Nawie Street, Horn Island.

TRAWQ Hall, 21 Olandi St, Thursday Island.

When: Saturday 28 May 2022 – 8am to 6pm.

Covid-19 safety measures

A COVID-safe plan will be in place at polling booths. It includes extra cleaning and sanitation measures.

Postal vote

Apply for a postal vote online, or send the form PDF (0.14 MB) to us. If you need help please phone 1300 881 665.

Postal vote applications close at 7pm on Monday 16 May 2022.

You can complete your vote as soon as you get it. Make sure you:

  • detach the ballot paper from the declaration envelope
  • number at least one box on the ballot paper to show your preferred candidate.
  • put your completed ballot paper in the declaration envelope.
  • seal the declaration envelope and sign it in front of a witness. Your witness has to sign it too.
  • put the declaration envelope in the reply-paid envelope and post that to the ECQ.

You must complete your vote by 6pm Saturday 28 May 2022.

The ECQ must receive it by Tuesday 7 June 2022 for your vote to be counted.

The optional preferential voting system will be used, as required by the Local Government Electoral Act 2011.

Under this system, you can number one, some or all of the boxes on the ballot paper, in your preferred order, starting with 1 for the candidate you most prefer.

  • Notice of Election – Friday 29 April 2022.
  • Candidate nominations open – Friday 29 April 2022.
  • Close of electoral roll – Thursday 5 May 2022.
  • Candidate nominations close – 12pm, Monday 9 May 2022.
  • Ballot paper order draw – 2.30pm, Monday 9 May 2022.
  • Early voting – 9am-5pm, Wednesday 25 May to Thursday 26 May 2022 & 9am-6pm, Friday 27 May 2022.
  • Election day – 8am-6pm, Saturday 28 May 2022.

Name: Peter McGraw

RO Office: Torres Shire Council building, 68 Douglas Street, Thursday Island.


Telephone: 0418 729 591