Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council Councillor by-election

The Electoral Commission of Queensland acknowledges the Traditional Owners of country where the by-election is being conducted, and their connection to land and community. We pay our respects to all Traditional Owners, and Elders past, present and emerging.

A by-election is being held to elect a new councillor in the Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council.

Election day is Saturday 10 December 2022.

Early voting is from Wednesday 7 December to Friday 9 December 2022.

See who has nominated as a candidate here.

Candidate nominations closed 12pm on 21 November 2022.

The ECQ employs temporary staff to deliver elections. There are different types of casual roles available, with most work on election day. However, some roles are also available before and after election day.

All temporary election staff are paid and receive training and support. No elections experience is necessary.

If you are interested in working at the Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council Councillor by-election, click here to find out more about eligibility and the roles available.

Voting is compulsory for Australian citizens aged 18 or over.

Enrol to vote or update your details at aec.gov.au.

In person

You can vote in person at the following times and location/s.

Early voting
  • 10am to 2pm on Wednesday 7 December 2022.
  • 10am to 2pm on Thursday 8 December 2022.
  • 10am to 6pm on Friday 9 December 2022.

Council Chambers
56 Sawmill Road
Yarrabah QLD 4871

Election day voting
  • 8am to 6pm on Saturday 10 December 2022.

Yarrabah Community Hall
Beach Street
Yarrabah QLD 4871

COVID safe measures will be in place at polling booths including extra cleaning and sanitation.

Postal voting

Postal vote applications closed 7pm on 28 November 2022.

If you applied for a postal vote you must complete it by 6pm on Saturday 10 December 2022.

The ECQ must receive your completed vote by 5pm Tuesday 20 December 2022 for it to be counted.

At this by-election, one councillor is being elected, so you need to number at least one box, in the order of your choice, starting with 1 (one) for your preferred candidate.

This is the first-past-the-post voting system, and is used as required by the Local Government Electoral Act 2011.

  • Notice of Election – 11 November 2022
  • Candidate nominations open – 11 November 2022
  • Close of electoral roll – 17 November 2022
  • Candidate nominations close – 12pm 21 November 2022
  • Ballot paper order draw – 2.30pm 21 November 2022
  • Early voting – Wednesday 7 December to Friday 9 December 2022
  • Election day – Saturday 10 December 2022
  • Close of return of postal vote - 5pm 20 December 2022

Name: Natalie Beattie

RO Office: Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council Chambers, 56 Sawmill Road, Yarrabah QLD 4871

Telephone: 0409 579 555