Mornington Shire Council by-election

The Electoral Commission of Queensland acknowledges the Traditional Owners of Country, and their connection to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to Elders past and present.

A by-election is being held to elect a new councillor in the Mornington Shire Council.

Election day is Saturday 15 June 2024.

Early voting is from Thursday 13 June to Friday 14 June 2024.

You must vote if you are enrolled to vote in the Mornington Shire Council area.

View the notice of election PDF (0.17 MB).

Candidate nominations closed at 12pm Monday 27 May 2024.

See who has nominated as a candidate in Mornington Shire Council.

The ECQ employs temporary staff to deliver elections. There are different types of casual roles available, with most work on election day. However, some roles are also available before and after election day.

All temporary election staff are paid and receive training and support. No elections experience is necessary.

If you are interested in working at the by-election, click here to find out more.

In person

You can vote in person at the following times and places:

Early voting

PCYC, Lardil Street, Gununa.
8am-6pm from Thursday 13 June to Friday 14 June 2024.

Election day voting

PCYC, Lardil Street, Gununa.
8am-6pm, Saturday 15 June 2024.

Postal vote

Applications closed 7pm on Monday 3 June 2024.

If you applied for a postal vote you must complete it by 6pm on Saturday 15 June 2024.

The ECQ must receive your completed vote by 5pm Tuesday 25 June 2024 for it to be counted.

At this by-election, one councillor is being elected, so you need to number at least one box by writing ‘1’ (one) for your preferred candidate.

This is the first-past-the-post voting system, and is used as required by the Local Government Electoral Act 2011.

  • Notice of Election – 10am, Friday 17 May 2024.
  • Close of electoral roll – 5pm, Thursday 23 May 2024.
  • Candidate nominations close – 12pm, Monday 27 May 2024.
  • Ballot paper order draw – Monday 27 May 2024.
  • Early voting – Thursday 13 June-Friday 14 June 2024 (8am-6pm).
  • Election day – Saturday 15 June 2024 (8am-6pm).
  • Close of return of postal vote -  5pm, Tuesday 25 June 2024.

Name: Faye Gates
RO Office: Mornington Shire Council Chambers, 1 Mission Road, Gununa
Telephone: 1300 881 665