Electoral Commission of Queensland

Divisional Boundary Reviews

Divisional boundaries are reviewed in the year before the Local Government Quadrennial Elections, as required by law.

Each council division is required to have relatively the same number of electors so that each person's vote carries the same weight (one vote, one value). This is known as a 'reasonable proportion of electors' (quota).

Reasonable Proportion of Electors (quota)

As Queensland's population grows and shifts, the number of voters in each local government area (council) changes.

Councils must review enrolment within their divisions and notify the Local Government Minister and the Electoral Commissioner of the results no later than:

  • Brisbane City Council -  1 October, two years before the Local Government Quadrennial Elections.
  • Other divided councils (except Indigenous regional councils) - 1 March, the year before the Local Government Quadrennial Elections.

To determine the quota, divide the total number of enrolled electors in a local government area by the number of councillors (excluding the mayor). A tolerance of either 10% or 20% is allowed depending on the number of electors:

  • For a local government area with more than 10,000 electors: 10%
  • For any other local government area: 20%

See section 15 of the Local Government Act 2009 and section 17 of the City of Brisbane Act 2010 for more information.

2019 Divisional Boundary Reviews

Local Government Area/sStatus
1Brisbane City CouncilReferral received
2Cassowary Coast Regional CouncilReferral received
3Fraser Coast Regional CouncilReferral received
4Gold Coast City CouncilReferral received
5Gympie Regional CouncilReferral received
6Ipswich City CouncilAwaiting referral
7Isaac Regional CouncilReferral received
8Logan City CouncilReferral received
9Moreton Bay Regional CouncilReferral received
10Redland City CouncilReferral received
11Rockhampton Regional CouncilReferral received
12Scenic Rim Regional CouncilReferral received
13South Burnett Regional CouncilReferral received
14Sunshine Coast Regional CouncilReferral received
15Tablelands Regional CouncilReferral received
16Townsville City CouncilReferral received
17Whitsunday Regional CouncilReferral received

For further information please email LGboundaries@ecq.qld.gov.au or call 1300 881 665.