LOCAL GOVERNMENT CHANGE COMMISSION Divisional Boundary Review of Sunshine Coast Regional Council

The Sunshine Coast Regional Council advised its electoral divisions no longer meet the voter enrolment requirements set down in the *Local Government Act 2009*. As a result, the Minister for Local Government has referred the matter to the Change Commission for independent assessment.

The Change Commission has proposed changes to the Council's internal boundaries (divisions) following a period of public suggestions.

INVITATION FOR COMMENTS ON THE PROPOSAL

Comments on the Change Commission's proposal will be accepted until 5pm on 11 October 2019. Late submissions cannot be considered.

To view the proposal and make a submission, please see the Electoral Commission of Queensland's website: <u>https://ecq.qld.gov.au/lgr/sunshinecoast</u> or phone 1300 881 665.

When making a comment, please remember each division must have relatively the same number of voters (quota) to ensure each person's vote has the same value. The quota for the Sunshine Coast Regional Council is 22,445 with a lower limit of 20,201 (-10%) and an upper limit of 24,690 (+10%).

Comments can be lodged through:

- Online Form https://ecq.qld.gov.au/lgr/sunshinecoast

- Personal Delivery Electoral Commission of Queensland Level 20, 1 Eagle Street, BRISBANE QLD 4000 - Email LGCCsubmissions@ecq.qld.gov.au

- Post Local Government Change Commission GPO Box 1393, BRISBANE QLD 4001

Submissions will be made available for public inspection. To discuss any privacy concerns, please phone 1300 881 665.

Pat Vidgen PSM Electoral Commissioner