

Queensland Teachers Union of Employees

Interim Certificate of Election

The Queensland Industrial Registrar issued Decisions, pursuant to the *Industrial Relations Act 2016*, on 16 January 2024 that the Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) conduct an election for the Queensland Teachers Union of Employees for the following positions:

State Council Representative of a Branch
Browns Plains Branch1
Centenary Branch1
Central Western Branch1
Coolum Branch1
Deception Bay Branch1
Fassifern Branch1
Ipswich West Branch1
Mt Coot-tha Branch1
Noosa District Branch1
Pine Rivers North Branch1
Redlands Branch1
TAFE Division1
Warrego Branch1
State Council Representative of an Area Counci
Wide Bay Area Council1
Branch Delegate to an Area Council
Central Queensland Area Council
Curtis Coast Branch1
Far North Queensland Area Council
Cassowary Coast Branch1
Torres Strait Branch

Branch Delegate to an Area Council cont.
Logan Redlands Area Council
Gold Coast Corridor Branch1
Redlands Branch2
Metropolitan Central Area Council
Sherwood Branch1
South Brisbane Branch1
The Gap Branch1
Metropolitan North Area Council
Deception Bay Branch1
North East Brisbane Branch1
Pine Rivers North Branch1
Metropolitan South Area Council
Camp Hill Branch1
East Brisbane Branch1
Metropolitan West Logan Area Council
Fassifern Branch (Casual Vacancy)
Fassifern Branch (Term Expired)1
pswich East Branch1
Sunshine Coast Area Council
Nambour Branch 1





Branch Delegate to an Area Council cont.
Wide Bay Area Council
Three Pines Branch1
Area Council Officers
Logan Redlands Area Council
Secretary1
Vice-President1
Far North Queensland Area Council
Vice-President1

TAFE Council Representatives for a Branch o
Group of Branches
TQB - Metro South 1
TQSW - Bundamba1
Member of Executive
Member of Executive 1
<u>Trustee</u>
Trustee 1

Table 1 - Positions of Office

A Notice of Election and Nomination Form detailing the election arrangements was distributed to members in the Union journal on Friday, 16 February 2024. The timetable for the election was advertised as follows:

- Nominations open on Friday, 16 February 2024;
- Nominations close at midday on Monday, 11 March 2024;
- Secret Postal Ballot, if required, will open Friday, 5 April 2024;
- Ballot to close at midday on Wednesday, 1 May 2024.
- Attendance ballots, if required will be conducted at the relevant meeting after the close of nominations.

Nominations

Nomination forms were received by the following:

Office	No. of Positions	Nominees		
State Council Representative of a Branch				
Browns Plains Brand	ch1	HURREN, Rhys		
Centenary Branch1		NORTH, Rachel		
Contendity Dianoit	1	LOCKE, Dion Brett		
Central Western	1	No nomination received		
Coolum	1	PERREN, Lauren		
Deception Bay Bran	ch1	No nomination received		
Fassifern Branch	1	COOPER, Margot		





Ipswich West Branch1	TORRENS, Rachelle		
Mt Coot-tha Branch1	No nomination received		
Noosa District Branch1	MERRETT, Lee		
Pine Rivers North Branch1	CHRISTENSEN, Ann		
Redlands Branch1	No nomination received		
TAFE Division1	PAK, Ola		
Warrego Branch1	SWADLING, Jennifer		
State Council Representative of an Area Council			
Wide Bay Area Council1	YOUNG, Fiona		
Wide Bay Alea Council	FIRMSTONE, Janet		
Branch Delegate to an Area Council			
Central Queensland Area Council			
Curtis Coast1	REIBEL, Michael		
Branch Delegate to Far North Queensland Area Council			
Cassowary Coast1	No nomination received		
Torres Strait1	TWEEDIE, Paula		
Branch Delegate to Logan Redlands Area Council			
Redlands2	No nomination received		
Gold Coast Corridor1	No nomination received		
Branch Delegate to Metropolitan Central Area Cour	ncil		
Sherwood 1	No nomination received		
South Brisbane1	No nomination received		
The Gap1	No nomination received		
Branch Delegate to Metropolitan North Area Council			
Deception Bay1	No nomination received		
North East Brisbane1	FLYNN, Kate		





Dino Divoro North	OUDIOTENIOEN A		
Pine Rivers North1	CHRISTENSEN, Ann		
Branch Delegate to Metropolitan South Area Counc	cil		
Camp Hill1	No nomination received		
East Brisbane1	No nomination received		
Branch Delegate to Metropolitan West Logan Area Council			
Fassifern (Casual Vacancy)1	No nomination received		
Fassifern (Term Expired)1	No nomination received		
Ipswich East1	No nomination received		
Branch Delegate to Sunshine Coast Area Council			
Nambour1	TUCKER, Angela		
Branch Delegate to Wide Bay Area Council			
Three Pines1	FUTO, Matthew		
Area Council Officers			
Logan Redlands Area Council			
Secretary1	No nomination received		
Vice-President1	No nomination received		
Far North Queensland Area Council			
Vice-President1	No nomination received		
TAFE Council Representative for a Branch o	r Group of Branches		
TQB - Metro South1	No nomination received		
TQSW - Bundamba1	WEIER, Cliff		
Member of Executive			
	ROOS, Nikki		
Member of Executive1	TAYLOR, Penny		
	MCCARTNEY, Tom		
Trustee			





	MERRETT, Lee
	SWADLING, Jennifer
Trustee 1	POWER, Amanda
	SHAW, Bob
	TAYLOR, Penny

Table 2 - Summary of Nominations

The ECQ accepted the nomination of all candidates as inquiries with the Union's membership records revealed that they are eligible for election to the positions of office contested.

Ballots

The ECQ is required to conduct a postal ballot to declare the following positions.

- State Council Representative of Centenary Branch
- State Council Representative of Wide Bay Area Council
- Member of Executive
- Trustee

Declaration

I, <u>HAMISH GORNIAK</u>, an officer of the Electoral Commission of Queensland assigned to conduct an election by the Industrial Registrar in Decisions RIO 2024/ 3-15 issued pursuant to the *Industrial Relations Act 2016*, <u>DECLARE THAT</u>: -

<u>RHYS HURREN</u> was elected to the office of State Council Representative of Browns Plains Branch.

<u>LAUREN PERREN</u> was elected to the office of State Council Representative of Coolum Branch.

<u>MARGOT COOPER</u> was elected to the office of State Council Representative of Fassifern Branch.

<u>RACHELLE TORRENS</u> was elected to the office of State Council Representative of Ipswich West Branch.

<u>LEE MERRETT</u> was elected to the office of State Council Representative of Noosa District Branch.





<u>ANN CHRISTENSEN</u> was elected to the office of State Council Representative of Pine Rivers North Branch.

<u>OLA PAK</u> was elected to the office of State Council Representative of TAFE Division.

<u>JENNIFER SWADLING</u> was elected to the office of State Council Representative of Warrego Branch.

MICHAEL REIBEL was elected to the office of Curtis Coast Branch Delegate to Central Queensland Area Council

<u>PAULA TWEEDIE</u> was elected to the office of Torres Strait Branch Delegate to Far North Queensland Area Council

<u>KATE FLYNN</u> was elected to the office of North East Brisbane Branch Delegate to Metropolitan North Area Council

<u>ANN CHRISTENSEN</u> was elected to the office of Pine Rivers North Branch Delegate to Metropolitan North Area Council

<u>ANGELA TUCKER</u> was elected to the office of Nambour Branch Delegate to Sunshine Coast Area Council

<u>MATTHEW FUTO</u> was elected to the office of Three Pines Branch Delegate to Wide Bay Area Council

<u>CLIFF WEIER</u> was elected to the office of TAFE Council Representative for TQSW - Bundamba

within the <u>QUEENSLAND TEACHERS UNION OF EMPLOYEES</u> in accordance with the Rules of the Industrial Organisation.

Hamish Gorniak Returning Officer 9 April 2024

