

## Decision on Electronically Assisted Voting for the 2020 Torres Strait Island Regional Council Division 14 By-election

Version 1.0

**Approval** 

Pat Vidgen

**Electoral Commissioner** 

18 / 11 / 2020



## **Decision**

To facilitate the conduct of the 2020 Torres Strait Island Regional Council Division 14 by-election to be held on 19 December 2020, this document advises of the unavailability of electronically assisted voting services (telephone voting) in accordance with section 75D of the *Local Government Electoral Act 2011*.

The Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) often facilitates telephone voting under section 67(1)(d) of the *Local Government Electoral Act.* However, for the 2020 Torres Strait Island Regional Council Division 14 by-election, the ECQ has determined that the telephone voting service will not be provided.

The ECQ is satisfied that due to the small number of electors enrolled within Division 14 of the Torres Strait Island Regional Council, the most efficient and accessible voting services for the community will be to provide in-person early voting, election day voting and postal voting. These services will be provided to enrolled electors to facilitate their participation in the by-election to be held on Saturday, 19 December 2020.

## **Effective**

This decision has effect for the 2020 Torres Strait Island Regional Council Division 14 by-election and remains in place until the close of voting for the by-election on Saturday, 19 December 2020.