

# **Queensland Teachers Union of Employees**

# **Certificate of Election**

The Queensland Industrial Registrar issued Decisions, pursuant to the *Industrial Relations Act 2016*, on Monday, 26 August 2019 that the Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) conduct an election for the Queensland Teachers Union of Employees for the following positions:

Office	No. of Positions
Branch Delegate to an	Area Council
Logan Redlands Area	Council
Logan West Branch	
Redlands Branch	2
Metropolitan Central A	Area Council
Brisbane Central Branc	h 2
Ferny Grove Branch	1
The Gap Branch	1
Wooloowin Branch (previous	ously Windsor Branch) 1
Metropolitan North Ar	ea Council
Narangba Valley Branch	า 1
Pine Rivers North Brand	ch1
Pine Rivers South Bran	
Redcliffe Branch	1
Metropolitan South Ar	rea Council
Camp Hill Branch	2
Macgregor Rochedale E	3ranch1
Metropolitan West Log	gan Area Council
Beaudesert Branch	1
Ipswich East Branch	1
Peninsula Area Counc	cil
Cairns Branch	1

Office	No. of Positions
Branch Delegate to an Cont.	Area Council
Wide Bay Area Counc	il
Bundaberg South Brand	
Area Council Officers Metropolitan Central A	Area Council
President	
Secretary	
Metropolitan North Ar	ea Council
Secretary	1
Metropolitan West Log	gan Area Council
Vice President	1
Sunshine Coast Area	Council
Secretary	1
State Council Represe	entative of a
Branch	
Brisbane Central Branc	
Redlands Branch	1
TAFE Council Represe	entative in a
Branch or Group of Br	ranches
TQB - Logan	1

Table 1 – Positions of office





A Notice of Election and Nomination Form detailing the election arrangements was distributed to members on Friday, 27 September 2019. The timetable for the election was advertised as follows:

- Nominations open on Friday, 27 September 2019;
- Nominations close at midday on Friday, 18 October 2019;
- Secret Postal Ballot, if required, will open Wednesday, 6 November 2019;
- Ballot to close at midday on Wednesday, 27 November 2019.
- Attendance Ballot, if required, will be conducted at the relevant meeting of Council following the close of nominations.

### **Nominations**

Nomination forms were received by the following:

Office	No. of Positions	Nominees		
Branch Delegate to an Area Council				
Logan Redlands Area	Council			
Logan West Branch	1	No nomination received		
Redlands Branch	2	No nomination received		
Metropolitan Central A	rea Council			
Brisbane Central Bran	ch 2	No nomination received		
Ferny Grove Branch	1	HANLEY, Ivy		
The Gap Branch	1	MORAN, David Matthew		
Wooloowin Branch (prev	iously Windsor Branch) . 1	No nomination received		
Metropolitan North Are	ea Council			
Narangba Valley Bran	ch 1	No nomination received		
Pine Rivers North Bra	nch 1	No nomination received		
Pine Rivers South Bra	nch 1	No nomination received		
Redcliffe Branch	1	No nomination received		
Metropolitan South Are	ea Council			
Camp Hill Branch	2	No nomination received		
Macgregor Rochedale	Branch 1	PIGGOT, Emma		





Office	No. of Positions	Nominees			
Branch Delegate to	Branch Delegate to an Area Council continued				
Metropolitan West Log	gan Area Council				
Beaudesert Branch	1	No nomination received			
Ipswich East Branch.	1	No nomination received			
Peninsula Area Counc	cil				
Cairns Branch	1	OLSSON, Leah Elizabeth			
Wide Bay Area Counc	il				
Bundaberg South Bra	anch 1	No nomination received			
Area Council Officer	rs				
Metropolitan Central A	Area Council				
President	1	McKELL, Joanne Nicole			
Secretary	1	No nomination received			
Metropolitan North Ar	ea Council				
Secretary	1	No nomination received			
Metropolitan West Log	gan Area Council				
Vice President	1	No nomination received			
Sunshine Coast Area	Council				
Secretary	1	CARTER, Leigh Alison			
State Council Repre	sentative of a Branch				
Brisbane Central Brai	nch 1	WALKER, Jessica Anne			
Redlands Branch	1	BLISS, Simon			
TAFE Council Representative in a Branch or Group of Branches					
TQB - Logan	1	No nomination received			

Table 2 – Summary of Nomination

The ECQ accepted the nominations of the candidate as inquiries with the Union's membership records revealed that all candidates are eligible for election to the position of office contested.





### **Ballot**

The ECQ was not required to conduct a ballot.

#### **Declaration**

I, <u>ELIZABETH BANNELL</u>, an officer of the Electoral Commission of Queensland assigned to conduct an election by the Industrial Registrar in Decision RIO 2019/234-237 issued pursuant to the *Industrial Relations Act 2016*, DECLARE THAT: -

<u>IVY HANLEY</u> is elected to the office of Ferny Grove Branch Delegate to the Metropolitan Central Area Council.

<u>DAVID MATTHEW MORAN</u> is elected to the office of The Gap Branch Delegate to the Metropolitan Central Area Council.

<u>EMMA PIGGOT</u> is elected to the office of Macgregor Rochedale Branch Delegate to Metropolitan South Area Council.

<u>LEAH ELIZABETH OLSSON</u> is elected to the office of Cairns Branch Delegate to Peninsula Area Council.

<u>JOANNE NICOLE MCKELL</u> is elected to the office of Metropolitan Central Area Council President.

<u>LEIGH ALISON CARTER</u> is elected to the office of Sunshine Coast Area Council Secretary.

<u>JESSICA ANNE WALKER</u> is elected to the office of State Council Representative of the Brisbane Central Branch.

<u>SIMON BLISS</u> is elected to the office of State Council Representative of the Redlands Branch.

within the <u>QUEENSLAND TEACHERS UNION OF EMPLOYEES</u> in accordance with the rules of the Industrial Organisation.

Elizabeth Bannell Returning Officer 23 October 2019

