ALL ELECTION PARTICIPANTS

Is my council a divided, multi-member divided or undivided council?

The two voting systems used in Queensland local government elections are:

- 1. Optional preferential voting
- 2. First-past-the-post voting

The council type of a local government council determines which voting system is used for its elections.

Note: all mayoral elections in every Queensland council use the optional preferential voting system

Voters may wish to use this information to better understand or prepare for voting in a local government election. You can search your address from the ECQ's <u>website</u> to find the name of your council. Candidates, groups of candidates or registered political parties may wish to use this information to ensure they are meeting their obligations under the *Local Government Electoral Act 2011* regarding how-to-vote cards.

Divided councils – optional preferential voting

BananaIsaacSouth BurnettBrisbaneLoganSunshine CoastBundabergMoreton BayTablelandsCairnsNorth BurnettTorres Strait Island

Cassowary Coast Northern Peninsula Area Townsville Fraser Coast Redland Whitsunday

Gold Coast Rockhampton Gympie Scenic Rim

Multi-member divided councils — first-past-the-post voting loswich

Undivided councils – first-past-the-post voting

Diamantina Aurukun Maranoa Balonne Doomadgee Mareeba Barcaldine Douglas McKinlay Etheridge Mornington Barcoo Blackall-Tambo Flinders Mount Isa Gladstone Murweh Boulia Bulloo Goondiwindi Napranum Burdekin Hinchinbrook Noosa Burke Hope Vale Palm Island Kowanyama Paroo Carpentaria Central Highlands Livingstone Pormpuraaw **Charters Towers** Lockhart River Quilpie Cherbourg Lockyer Valley Richmond Cloncurry Longreach Somerset Mackay Cook Southern Downs Croydon Mapoon Toowoomba

Torres Western Downs Winton Woorabinda Wujal Wujal Yarrabah