Electoral Commission Queensland

State redistributions

One of the key functions of ECQ is conducting a state redistribution. Over time people move in and around the state, altering the balance of electors in each of the districts. A state redistribution is undertaken to ensure that each electoral district in Queensland is represented by a fair and balanced number of electors.

The Queensland Redistribution Commission has been established to redistribute the state into 93 electoral districts from the existing 89.  

Previous redistributions

The last Queensland state redistribution occurred in 2008. The final report, maps, submissions and transcripts from this review are available on the 2008 state redistribution page.